Global Learning faculty-led programs are courses designed by WWU faculty for WWU students and WWU credit offered throughout the year all over the world. Study a specific subject, a language, culture, and/or participate in field studies or service learning as part of your Western experience with Global Learning faculty-led programs! Below is an overview of our upcoming programs.

Please see the Education Abroad webpage to view information about all programs and to begin the application process.

Summer 2018

Summer Intersession Travel (Fall registration) 2018

Fall 2018

Winter 2019

Spring 2019

 


Summer 2018

Canada

French Language in Montréal, Québec, FREN 337A (4 credits) and FREN 337B (4 credits)

Dr. Christina Keppie, Miller Hall 215D, 360-650-3930, christina.keppie@wwu.edu

Redfish School of Change: Salish Sea Field School, ENVS 498C (3 credits), ENVS 491 (5 credits), ENVS 498D (3 credits); 11 credits total

Nick Stanger, Arntzen Hall 201, 360-650-2203, Nick.Stanger@wwu.edu


Costa Rica

Global Entrepreneurship and Innovation: Social Sector Edition, ENTR 397x (4 credits)

2015 Photo Contest Winner: Viking Pride Abroad

Dr. Art Sherwood, Parks Hall 41, 360-650-4146, Art.Sherwood@wwu.edu


Greece

Mediterranean Studies in Sustainable Development, ENVS 437P (8 credits)

Nicholas Zaferatos, Ph.D., AICP, Professor, Environmental Studies 444, 360-650-7660, nicholas.zaferatos@wwu.edu


Guatemala

Building Cross-Cultural Connections, CSD 437 (10 credits)

Michael Fraas, AIC 374, 360-650-7536, Michael.Fraas@wwu.edu

 


India

Himalaya Culture and Ecology, FAIR 437B (10 credits)

Peter Impara, FA 348, 360-650-6680, Peter.Impara@wwu.edu


Italy

Ecogastronomy and Food Cultures of Italy, ENVS 437K (8 credits)

Gigi Berardi, Ph.D., AH 204, 360-650-2106, gigi.berardi@wwu.edu

From Text to Fresco: The Great Age of Narrative Art in Italy, ENG 337 (6 credits)

Nicholas Margaritis, Ph.D., HU 281, 360-650-2537, Nicholas.Margaritis@wwu.edu

Southern Italy: The City and Everyday Life, ENVS 437D (8 credits)

Nabil Kamel, Ph.D., AH 230, 360-650-2440, Nabil.Kamel@wwu.edu


Japan

Tokyo KCP, EAST 430 (4 credits), INTL 205/305 (6 credits); 10 credits total

Massimiliano Tomasi, MH 222C, 360-650-3339, Massimiliano.Tomasi@wwu.edu


Mexico

Study Abroad in Guanajuato. World Heritage City., SPAN 301 (4 credits), SPAN 302 (4 credits), SPAN 332 (4 credits); 12 credits total

Blanca Aranda, MH 128, 360-650-2528, blanca.aranda@wwu.edu

 

TESOL in Queretaro, TESL 437C (2 credits), TESL 437D (2 credits), TESL 437G (2 credits), 6 credits total

Dr. Cheiron McMahill, MH 304D, 360-650-2551, Cheiron.McMahill@wwu.edu

Tropical Marine Biological Research, BIOL 437A (6 credits) and BIOL 437B (6 credits), plus spring quarter BIOL 397A (1 credit)

Alejandro Acevedo-Gutiérrez, BI 309, 360-650-3653, acevedo@biol.wwu.edu

Deborah Donovan, BI 310, 360-650-7251, donovan@biol.wwu.edu

Benjamin Miner, BI 410, 360-650-3640, Benjamin.Miner@wwu.edu


Peru

Mountain Science in the Peruvian Andes, ESCI 498D (10 credits)

John All, ES 321, 360-650-7630, John.All@wwu.edu


Rwanda

Community Building in Rwanda, INTL 437i (12 credits)

Paul Mart, CH 236, 360-650-2808, Paul.Mart@wwu.edu

Tim Costello, WL 494, 360-650-2503, Timothy.Costello@wwu.eduhttp://www.learnlivego.com/ 


South Africa

Nongovernmental Organizations in Development, PLSC 437g or HSP 437g (12 credits)

Vernon Damani Johnson, Ph.D., AH 439, 360-650-4874, Vernon.Johnson@wwu.edu

Dr. John Korsmo, MH 317D, 360-650-2364, John.Korsmo@wwu.edu




Summer Intersession Travel (Fall registration) 2018

Greece

Honors 103 Abroad! Beginning the Program in Greece, HNRS 103 (4 credits)

Tristan Goldman BH336, 360-650-2062, Tristan.Goldman@wwu.edu

Ireland

Global Literatures: Defining Ireland, ENG 282 (5 credits)

Julie Dugger HU 341, 360-650-4989, Julie.Dugger@wwu.edu




Fall 2018

Costa Rica

Eco-Adventure and Cultural Tourism, REC 337B (4 credits)

Jasmine Goodnow Carver 05, 360-650-2393, Jasmine.Goodnow@wwu.edu

Japan

Art and Art History Field Study in Japan, A/HI 337, ART 360, ART 494 (15 credits)

Julia Sapin FI 111, 360-650-3670, Julia.Sapin@wwu.edu

Seiko Purdue FI 226A, 360-650-4832, Seiko.Purdue@wwu.edu

Nepal

Biocultural Diversity, FAIR 437E (15 credits)

T. Abe Lloyd ES 522, 360-650-2844, Thomas.Lloyd@wwu.edu


Winter 2019

Senegal

Senegal, ENG 333/408 (5 credits), ENG 335 (5 credits), ENG 350/ENG 460 (5 credits); (15 credits total)

Christopher Wise HU 251, 360-650-3237, Christopher.Wise@wwu.edu

Kristiana Kahakauwila HU 305, 360-650-6605, Kristiana.Kahakauwila@wwu.edu

 

WWU Accessibility Notice