Global Learning faculty-led programs are courses designed by WWU faculty for WWU students and WWU credit offered throughout the year all over the world. Study a specific subject, a language, culture, and/or participate in field studies or service learning as part of your Western experience with Global Learning faculty-led programs! Below is an overview of our upcoming programs.

Please see the Education Abroad webpage to view information about all programs and to begin the application process.


Fall 2017

Ireland

Global Literatures: Defining Ireland, ENG 282 (5 credits)

Contact:

Julie Dugger HU 341, 360-650-4989, Julie.Dugger@wwu.edu


Nepal

Biocultural Diversity in Nepal, FAIR 437E (15 credits)

Contacts:

Charlie Ashbaugh 206-3000-7857, cashbaugh@villagestudies.org

Thomas Lloyd Thomas.Lloyd@wwu.edu



Winter 2018

Kenya

Kenya Social Justice & Society, INTL 437H (15 credits)

Contacts:

Liz Mogford AH 524, 360-650-3002, Liz.Mogford@wwu.edu

Steve Bennetto


Thailand

Indigenous Knowledge & Sustainability in Thailand, FAIR 437A (15 credits)

Contact:

Shirley Osterhaus FAIR 348, 360-650-3680, Shirley.Osterhaus@wwu.edu



Spring 2018

There are no programs offered during spring 2018.



Summer 2018

Canada

French Language in Montréal, Québec, FREN 337A (4 credits) and FREN 337B (4 credits)

Dr. Christina Keppie, Miller Hall 215D, 360-650-3930, christina.keppie@wwu.edu


China


Costa Rica


Ecuador

Global Learning in Ecuador, HNRS 105 (4 credits) and HNRS 212 (4 credits)

Scott Linneman, College Hall 03, 360-650-3446, Scott.Linneman@wwu.edu

Amy Carbajal, Miller Hall 216B, 360-650-7967, Amy.Carbajal@wwu.edu


France


Greece

Mediterranean Studies in Sustainable Development, ENVS 437P (8 credits)

Nicholas Zaferatos, Ph.D., AICP, Professor, Environmental Studies 444, 360-650-7660, nicholas.zaferatos@wwu.edu


Guatemala

Building Cross-Cultural Connections, CSD 437 (10 credits)

Michael Fraas, AIC 374, 360-650-7536, Michael.Fraas@wwu.edu


Iceland


India


Indonesia and East Timor


Ireland


Italy

Ecogastronomy and Food Cultures of Italy, ENVS 437K (8 credits)

Gigi Berardi, Ph.D., AH 204, 360-650-2106, gigi.berardi@wwu.edu


Japan


Mexico

TESOL in Queretaro, TESL 437C (2 credits), TESL 437D (2 credits), TESL 437G (2 credits)

Dr. Cheiron McMahill, MH 304D, 360-650-2551, Cheiron.McMahill@wwu.edu

Tropical Marine Biological Research, BIOL 437A (6 credits) and BIOL 437B (6 credits), plus spring quarter BIOL 397A (1 credit)

Alejandro Acevedo-Gutiérrez, BI 309, 360-650-3653, acevedo@biol.wwu.edu

Deborah Donovan, BI 310, 360-650-7251, donovan@biol.wwu.edu

Benjamin Miner, BI 410, 360-650-3640, Benjamin.Miner@wwu.edu


Peru


Rwanda


United Kingdom

Creativity and Social Change: An Applied Theatre Workshop, THTR 428 (5 credits)

Deb Currier, PA 387, 360-650-2387, Deb.Currier@wwu.edu


South Africa



Fall 2018

Ireland

Global Literatures: Defining Ireland, ENG 282 (5 credits)

Contact:

Julie Dugger HU 341, 360-650-4989, Julie.Dugger@wwu.edu

WWU Accessibility Notice